Home Rule Expands

Six West Virginia municipalities have been given a larger say in how they govern. The West Virginia Municipal Home Rule Board granted home rule status to Beckley, Grafton, Princeton, St. Albans, Moundsville and Oak Hill this week, bringing the total number of participating municipalities to 26. Home rule shifts power from the state to the local level, and Charleston was part of the pilot program back in 2007.

Print Friendly