Cities Express Interest as Home Rule Expands

As the state's home rule pilot program expands, there are four Kanawha County cities that plan to apply. The Daily Mail reports St. Albans, Nitro, Dunbar and South Charleston have all expressed interest. The home rule program gives cities more control over ordinances and taxes, and could help with a number of things, including cleaning up old, dilapidated buildings and making the permitting system easier. The state Legislature expanded the pilot program this year to allow up to 20 cities to participate. The program already includes Charleston, Huntington, Wheeling and Bridgeport.