State of Emergency Extended for Several Counties, including Kanawha

Kanawha County is one of several counties in West Virginia still under a state of emergency after Superstorm Sandy. Governor Earl Ray Tomblin declared the State of Emergency ahead of the storm for 55 counties, and he has extended the emergency declaration through December 21 for 22 of them. He says in a news release that the counties need more time and help to recover from the storm. Counties still under the State of Emergency include Boone, Fayette, Kanawha, Nicholas, Raleigh, Randolph, and Wyoming.